top of page
Search

While the NCGA won't sign a budget, public school employees won't see a raise...

But, still, I will rise--


I will rise up each morning and show up at school and teach my heart out.

I will raise my voice to anyone who will listen to my message of hope and kindness.

I will raise my fist in solidarity with my teacher colleagues as we continue our pursuit of respect.

I will raise awareness for equity and excellence in my district and state.

I will raise my hand and volunteer my talent and passion for public education.

I will raise my palm and high five the celebrations that happen in my classroom everyday.

I will rise above the disrespect and criticism of my chosen career.

I will raise another class of students to know they can do anything they try to do.

I will raise my ballot to drop into the ballot box to vote for a school board and state superintendent and representatives that support teachers and public education.

I will raise my pen and write my feelings and opinions and share them with the world.

I will rise like the sun in the morning and the moon in the evening despite the continued disdain for the job I do, and I will give more than anyone can be expected to support the social-emotional and educational needs of the students I teach.

I will raise my glass and cheer with my friends and coworkers when we get together to blow off steam.

And, I will raise my eyes heavenward and express gratitude that I have the greatest job in the world.



Because, North Carolina, you cannot keep me down by not giving me a raise.




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

In Kind

What does it mean to be kind? How are we kind to each other? Its easy to recognize unkindness or meanness. We experience it at all levels of our daily lives, from traffic incidents and snapping at som

bottom of page